March 13, 2008

To: Retail Dealers, Nonretail Dealers, and Wholesale Dealers of Gasoline in the State of Oregon.

RE: Important Information Regarding Ethanol Blended Gasoline.

To address citizen's concerns about Oregon's Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) mandate to blend all gasoline with 10% by volume ethanol, the 2008 Legislature Special Assembly passed Senate Bill (SB) 1079 that provides exceptions to this blending mandate for very specific applications.

A temporary administrative rule has been adopted to immediately implement SB 1079. If you are a retail dealer, nonretail dealer, or a wholesale dealer of gasoline in Oregon who chooses to sell or offer for sale non-ethanol blended gasoline that meet the specific exceptions provided by SB 1079, this rule affects you. Please carefully read the enclosed excerpt of the temporary administrative rule for these exceptions, correct dispenser labeling, and posting of the exceptions at your business.

Renewable Fuel Standard Exceptions

In essence, SB 1079 and this temporary administrative rule allow non-ethanol blended gasoline for the following applications only:

- Aircraft,
- Antique vehicles,
- All-terrain vehicles,
- Racing activity vehicles,
- Snowmobiles,

- Tools including but not limited to lawn mowers, leaf blowers, and chain saws, or
- Watercraft

Once again, please carefully read the enclosed excerpts of the temporary administrative rule for the specific exceptions and their definitions, dispenser (pump) labeling, storage tank labeling, and posting of the exceptions at your business. In addition, we have included an example of acceptable exception posting that you may wish to use.

A complete copy of the temporary administrative rules is available on the ODA Measurement Standards Division web site at <u>http://egov.oregon.gov/ODA//MSD/</u>

As a reminder, required sales of gasoline blended with 10% by volume ethanol in Region 1 was January 15, 2008 and includes Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington, and Yamhill Counties; Region 2 is April 15, 2008 and includes Benton, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Lane, Lincoln, and Linn Counties; and Region 3 is September 16, 2008 and includes Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Wheeler Counties.

If you have questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact the ODA Measurement Standards Division at 503-986-4670 or e-mail at <u>msd-info@oda.state.or.us</u>

Regards,

Russ Wyckoff Administrator Measurement Standards Division Oregon Department of Agriculture

Enc: Rule Exceptions and Posting Exceptions.